01642 342287

School Games

The School Games is a programme which aims to keep competitive sport at the heart of schools, and provide young people with the opportunity to compete and achieve their personal best.

Mission and vision

The School Games will make a positive and meaningful difference to the lives of children and young people through sport and physical activity.

The School Games will continue to put physical activity and school sport at the heart of schools, and provide young people with the opportunity to enjoy and learn through competition to achieve their personal best.

The School Games is a fun and enjoyable way of engaging all young people through school sport.

Sport can encourage the growth of key skills within young people, and we encourage teachers and event organisers to celebrate successes around our ‘Spirit of the Games’ values: determination, eco-friendly, honesty, passion, respect, self-belief, and teamwork.

 

 

Your School Games Organiser Contacts

Cleveland

Andy Tennyson – andy.tennyson@clevelandssp.co.uk

Redcar & Eston

Louise Tarran – louise.tarran@ressp.co.uk

Claire Tennyson – claire.tennyson@ressp.co.uk

Middlesbrough

Vacancy

Hartlepool

Kate Robinson – k.robinson@northerneducationtrust.org

Stockton

Peter Sheahan (Northfield) – psheahan@northfieldssc.org

Rose Mullis (Central) – rmullis@northfieldssc.org

Darlington

Sara Wrangham sara.wrangham@darlington.gov.uk

 

Would you like to know more about the School Games?

Visit the Your Schools Website for more info.

 

The School Games provide a platform for children to take part in:

Intra-school competition (Level 1) ran by schools with support from SSPs and SGOs

An intra-school competition is a sporting activity taking place between pupils who attend the same school. For example, this can be in the form of an inter-class or house activity. These competitions should culminate in an annual School Games Day, or Sports Day, to celebrate a school’s sporting success.


Inter-school competition (Level 2) Local district competition ran by SGOs

A local inter-school competition is a sporting activity taking place between schools from the same area either as a one-off fixture or as part of a league. These competitions may act as qualifiers for county finals or can be run as developmental competitions or festival events to meet the needs of a local area.


County Finals (Level 3) County competition ran by SGOs and SSPs

These competitions and festivals are to be delivered by the SGO network from 2021 onwards as the whole of the Tees Valley network work together to deliver the new School Games priorities.

 

In This Section